To stand or not to stand, that is the question

So, must I explain the goings on via the American national anthem, the NFL, and the barrage of social media expert opinion?

Didn’t think so-or I just did.

I have some thoughts.

I understand our nation’s right to free speech. As an evangelical conservative Reformed Baptist Christian(and there’s a lot more where that came from), I greatly appreciate the time and place God has appointed for me to live.

Also, I am an Active Duty Soldier in the U.S. Army. I have deployed twice to Afghanistan.

I love my country-defects and all-like you love that one crazy uncle.

This love does not excuse, agree with, or permiss the sins of my country, rather it propels me to want change.

So, to stand or not to stand during the national anthem. Is it an NFL rule that the players stand? Yes. Does the NFL have to punish everyone who breaks a rule? No. I believe the rules are there so that they have grounds to punish. Players often get different fine amounts for illegal hits etc. Quite honestly,much of it seems quite subjective and arbitrary.

Nevertheless, these players are choosing to break a rule in order to “say something” or not to say something. It still kind of confuses me how free speech covers a physical action or the lack of a physical action. Shouldn’t we call that free action? I digress.

My thought is, they are definitely free to do what they did. They might receive a fine, but it’s clearly worth it to them and not against federal law.

But the avenue of protest still reveals something in the heart of the protestor.

In the Bible, in Galatians and 1st Corinthians, Paul uses similar logic. In Galatians 5:13 he tells them they are free in Christ, but to not use that freedom for an opportunity to sin. In 1st Corinthians, Paul says all things are lawful for him, but not all things are helpful. Kneeling is lawful, but is it helpful? A protest down main street isn’t inherently disrespectful to your country, and your point still comes across with speeches, banners and the like. Burn the country flag during your march and you’re biting the hand that feeds you. Is that helpful?

In my patriotic opinion, kneeling is a whole lot less disrespectful than burning or stomping on our flag. To put it positively, it is more respectful to kneel than burn or stomp on the flag.

But my fear is that it was a poorly chosen route of protest and look what it bred. It bred a whole lot of discussion on whether it was legal or not, patriotic or not, a protected right or not. And now people are kneeling merely for solidarity with Mr. Kaep- not even for the same cause.

All things are lawful, but not all things are helpful.

Someone please share with me an article or interview of Colin Kaepernick being asked what his reasons were and what he’s doing to eliminate the problems in our nation that he is against.

But my greater concern, will Colin kneel before Jesus? There are those who kneel before Jesus, and those who are going to be made to kneel. Christians, there a greater cause for kneeling we need to fill our feeds with. Be about it.

Philippians 2:9-11″Therefore God has highly exalted him and bestowed on him the name that is above every name, so that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

Leave a Reply

